Anti Ragging Policies

Constitution of Anti-Ragging Committee – 2017–2018

The Government of West Bengal has enacted Anti Ragging Law, "West Bengal Prohibition of Ragging in Educational Institutions Act 2000" to prevent ragging at the Educational Institution. Further, the Government has directed all Heads of educational institution of the State to form Anti Ragging Committee to implement strictly and punish the students indulging in ragging activities stringently as per the provision of the law.

The Supreme Court in its order, dated the 16th May 2007, has ordered a crackdown on ragging on campuses across the country. The court made it compulsory for Colleges and other educational institutions to register FIRs and said exemplary punishment should be awarded to offenders, so that it acts as deterrent.

In pursuance of the above orders and directives, an Anti-Ragging Committee has been reconstituted as per AICTE norms for the academic year 2017–2018 with the following members:

Sl. No. Name Designation Status in Anti-ragging Committee Contact No.
1. Prof. (Dr.) Sutapa Mukherjee Principal, BPPIMT Chairperson 9051099052
2. Mr. Subrato Kangsabanik OIC, Baguiati P.S. Member, (Police Administration) 9073343311
3. Mr. Rantideb Sengupta Journalist, Bartaman Member (Local Media) 9836389171
4. Mr. R. K. Ghosh President, Green World, Ichapur, Howrah – 711 104 Member (NGO) 9874856778
5. Mr. Sudipta Saha Parent Member – (Parent) 9804939469
6. Ms. Aparna Ghosh Professional  Counselor Member 9830435480
7. Dr. Nandita Sanyal Associate Prof. & HOD, EE, BPPIMT,Co-ordinator Member 9830073184
8. Dr. Ananya Kanjilal Associate Professor & HOD, CSE,BPPIMT Member 9674284109
9. Dr. Sabnam Sengupta Associate Professor & HOD,IT, BPPIMT Member 9433076680
10. Dr. Ivy Majumdar Associate Professor & HOD,ECE, BPPIMT Member 9433853964
11. Dr. Soumya Paul Associate Professor & HOD, MCA, BPPIMT Member 9830287122
12. Dr. Rupa Paul Associate Professor,BPPIMT Member 9831712644
13. Mr. Arup Ratan Bera STA, BPPIMT Member 9830489819
14. Mr. Soumitra Singh STA, BPPIMT Member 9231396652
15. Mr. Tushar Dhanuka, 4th yr. IT Student Member 9038473599
16. Mr. Panchwat Kumar,4th Yr. EE Student Member 7059863030
17. Mr. Kushal Karmakar, 3rd Yr. MCA Student Member 8509462995
18. Mr. Aman Kumar Singh, 3rd Yr. CSE Student Member 9883811114
19. Ms. Tamishra Ray, 4th Yr. CSE Student Member 9748720131
20. Mr. Manab Chatterjee, 3rd Yr. ECE Student Member 9804059713
21. Mr. Sasank Kumar, 4th Yr. ECE Student Member 8777080690
22. Dr. Subhasish Pradhan Registrar (Actg.) — BPPIMT Member 9051447144

The Functions, Duties and Responsibilities :

Power of the Committee has been elaborately stated and explained in the Act as mentioned in AICTE guidelines (2017-2018). Any case of ragging within the premises of the Institute as well as its authorized hostels will come under the purview of the Committee. In case of emergency, Founder Trustee & Chief Mentor / Principal / Registrar (Actg.) / Co-ordinator & Deputy Co-ordinator may be contacted on Phone Nos. as given below :

Founder Trustee & Chief Mentor : 98310 31310
Principal : 90510 99052
Registrar (Actg.) : 90514 47144
Co-ordinator, Anti-ragging Squad : 98300 73184
Deputy Co-ordinator, Anti-ragging Squad : 98317 12644